Manning Up

Posted on March 31, 2014. Filed under: cycle, ironman, Ironman Austria, strava |

IMG_20140311_110234Last week, I *may* have been feeling a bit sorry for myself when I wrote this.  I was floating in a mental Bermuda Triangle somewhere between chronic CBA Syndrome and some very real, lingering bug.

But I’m not very good at sitting still when I have The Plan.  Ironman Austria is getting no further away.  It is getting no shorter than 140.6 miles. And I am getting no younger.  So a word was needed to be had with oneself, in a threatening manner.

Back in September, I knew that this was likely, and I had a stern chat with my brain; that has proven useful this week.  I also wrote The Plan which I knew would be my magnetic north when the sea got turbulent.  Together with a heavy prescription of Rule #5, I manned up last week and got straight back onto the horse.

The first sign that I was in full HTFU recovery was when I went to the gym on Wednesday.  I take a bit of a beasting, I am working on pull ups.  The previous week I managed 4 sets of 4 pull ups, the last two with support.  This week I was doing sets of 6 pull ups without support with push ups in between sets.  The gym chap asked if I was sure I didn’t want support.  “I have to do 140.6 miles in 14 weeks time without support, it’s time to man up”, I responded.  He gave me a confused yet sympathetic look that said “you’re special, but not in a good way”.

IMG_20140326_154337On Wednesday, I went  cycling in shorts, fingerless mitts and a family size vat of factor 50.  It was a pleasant 3 hour ride but there was one notable high and one notable low.

The high was the quality of the ride – cadence and heart rate were exactly where I needed them and on two of my benchmark climbs I recorded my fastest ascents in the last two years.  On one of my “favourite” climbs, in one of my favourite places, the wonderfully named, Auchmuirbridge to Arnot segment, I recorded my best time by 20 seconds.  This is cool.  The Powerbar that came down my nose as I gasped for breath was not.

The low was that as the sun started to fall it became apparent that it was a few weeks early for fingerless mitts and my hands started cramping with the cold.  Having watched Milan – San Remo the week before, I knew the pro peloton have two strategies to cope with this – a bottle of hot tea or a tactically aimed golden shower.  Fearing the Constabulary would not be understanding as I warmed my clawlike hands with pee, I opted for the former.

So, I pulled in to the side of Loch Leven ordered two coffees, drank one and poured the other in a bidon.  Whenever I cramped I would pour some coffee on my hands.  My formerly pristine white bar tape now looks like the site of a dirty protest.

2014-03-31 20.34.24On Saturday, I PB’d at parkrun.  I’m not really sure how.  The run-up was not perfect preparation.  On Thursday I ran 13 very fun but energy sapping miles in the woods.  On Friday evening I did a 60+30 brick.  So, as a consequence I woke up on Saturday morning with little desire to run 5k and achey legs.

This would prove to be an interesting park run because it was the first time that I was fit enough for an absolutely balls to the wall effort.  I tend to self-seed myself a bit too modestly and the first 800m included quite a bit of obstacle dodging. I struck a lot more matches than I intended getting through the traffic and before I hit the first kilometre marker I had pins and needles in my legs and I was convinced I was going to pass out.  A glance at my watch confirmed that I was already running at about 95% of maximum heart rate.  It was a flat out effort which was humbling as OAPs and kids skipped passed me but, in my defence I was about 9stone heavier than all of them put together.  My splits were pleasantly (actually not pleasant.  Actually very uncomfortable indeed) consistent at  4:46, 5:03, 5:03, 5:01, 4:51 to bring me in well under 25minutes.  This might not strike you as a particular speedy time but handicap adjusted for lard and ancient I would whup Mo’s quorn filled ass by miles.

I will always remember the moment that I crossed the line.  Not because I celebrated my PB by dancing Gangnam Style.  No, not that at all.  But because I projectile vomited my porridge on my trainers.  THAT is how to celebrate.

So, that’s it.  Everything is back on track with the exception of the previously reliable weight loss trajectory.  I have analysed all the stuff to try and get under the skin of this particular problem.  After much number crunching and control testing, I have concluded the problem is cake.  And beer.  Unfortunately they will have to go.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Manning Up”

RSS Feed for ironman39 Comments RSS Feed

Brilliant post! Remind me never to get too close to your bar tape (or your trainers) in the future. Training is obviously going well, congrats 😀

Like

Cheers Pea. I confirm that my bar tape issue is only coffee.

My trainers, however, are truly foul.

Like

I believe you, thousands wouldn’t 😉

Like

Thank you for the reminder to HTFU (a favorite of mine) and be grateful. Nice post!

Like


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Wild Woman

Adventures of one lady and her dog

unironedman

Doing your first Iron Man a few wrinkles short of fifty...

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

LoneSwimmer

The World's Best Guide To Cold & Open Water Swimming

Running On Espresso

Running, coffee and generally running on good coffee!

